Monday Memory-A Special Serenade Down Main Street U.S.A

I simply love the Dapper Dans. They are the funny, charming, and so talented. I think they make the perfect all-American form of entertainment to grace Main Street U.S.A. Many guests agree, however those who don’t know about them are truly missing out on some special moments they can create.

The Dans sing, tap dance (my favorite!), and entertain guests for multiple performances every day in the Magic Kingdom. Hearing their beautiful voices every morning while I walk down Main Street is quite literally music to my ears. They never fail to bring a huge cheesy grin to my face. Sometimes, I even sing along!

Screen Shot 2016-08-01 at 4.32.14 PM.png

Every morning the Dans take a ride in the horse drawn carriage down Main Street from a stop by Cinderella Castle. One morning last August, I was lucky enough to be walking right behind (more like following because I’m obsessed with them) the Dapper Dans when I noticed they were hopping on the carriage. When my family and I asked them if we could hop on, they welcomed us with open arms.

Screen Shot 2016-08-01 at 4.28.01 PM.png

The Dans are keen on picking out any celebration buttons you may be sporting, and that day, I happened to be celebrating my birthday! As we were waiting to see if anyone else would hop on the empty (besides the Dans and my family) carriage, they chatted and joked with me about my birthday. A few years back, they also helped to celebrate my birthday by singing me happy birthday during their show….and calling me beautiful…and generally making my life. It’s fine; It’s not like I’m a fangirl or anything.

Screen Shot 2016-08-01 at 4.29.07 PM.png

So, the driver of the carriage told us it looked like it would be only us that day, and we started our journey down Main Street. I was truly shocked nobody else wanted a ride with the Dapper Dans! However, I was thrilled because that meant we got a private ride with the Dans, where they serenaded me with happy birthday and other Disney songs. People stared as we came right down the middle of Main Street U.S.A and for a moment I felt as if I wanted the trolley music to start so I could perform for everyone! However, when I looked back at the Dans on the carriage, smiling brightly at me, I decided to simply enjoy the moment, the music, and create a memory. With the castle perfectly peeking out from behind them, it was like a moment out of an extra special storybook.

It seemed like time had frozen on that humid August morning as we leisurely strolled down past the candy colored windows and bouquets of Mickey balloons. I suppose that’s how Walt had envisioned Main Street to be; he wanted it to act as a means of slowing down and enjoying a few minutes in a bygone era. A place where guests would be transported to small town USA-where the folks are friendlier, and where the air smells sweeter…or perhaps that’s just the scents wafting from The Confectionary. 😉

 

What’s your favorite part about Main Street U.S.A? Have you ever watched the Dapper Dans perform or do you have a special memory with them? Let me know in the comments!

The Pixie Dusted Princess

 

Leave a Reply

