Princess Problems

Hi Friends! Princess problems happen to the best of us, and I think it’s important to be honest with ourselves and others about them! So grab yourself a cup of something cozy (or a big bowl of ice cream), and settle in while I explain how I’ve found pixie dust in the dullest and ickiest of situations. It’s all thanks to the beautiful Disney Princesses-these strong, beautiful characters have been giving me some much needed strength lately…

During during these past few weeks, life has thrown me multiple curveballs, and provided me with more changes than I thought I’d like to take on at once. The pixie dusted life that this princess has come to know had seemed to sparkle a little less. However, I’ve been trying to find the magic in my everyday life. After all, we can’t be at Disney every day-and we all know that a Disney trip makes everything so much better.

I became pretty ill in June, but in the past few weeks my symptoms got really bad so I decided to do something about it. Luckily, I’m on the appropriate medicines now and my issues are not too serious. I’m so thankful for that. Simply acknowledging how blessed I am to be in a position where I can say that has been the first step to rediscovering the magic in my daily life. Still, laying in bed all day with headaches and sinus pressure has felt a lot like this…Anna is seriously my spirit animal.

giphy

I’ve also been dealing with some very big unknowns and I’m awaiting some answers to a few important questions that I’m going to need answered within a couple of weeks. There are huge life decisions coming up for me, so the waiting game has been difficult to say the least. I’ve been doing a lot of e-mail checking and it’s had me feeling quite anxious, kind of like how Rapunel felt when she was waiting to leaver her tower.

3298361pdrgqpc3y5

Then, to top it all off (things come in 3s, right?), last night I found out something that I have been waiting for…for a really, really long time…is simply not an option anymore. Some of my dreams literally cannot become a reality anymore, and that was a heavy pill to swallow. As if I haven’t swallowed enough of those over the past few weeks!

giphy1

But sometime last night while I was dwelling over the should haves, could haves, and what ifs, a lightbulb flashed on in my mind, and I thought to myself…how would a Disney Princess handle all of this?

tumblr_marjek5sil1rdvztso1_500

First, she would handle it with grace. A good princess is always graceful, no matter what the circumstances. This doesn’t mean she can’t feel upset. This only means that once her period of sadness and grieving is ending, that she will recover with a little help from her friends and family. A princess can ask for help, but often she will find she won’t need to ask. Her loved ones will know she needs some extra care and love.

tumblr_m2u0fsexvg1qm6oc3o1_500

Of course, a princess would also know that during a time of stress, it’s alright to indulge a little. Treating yourself to some fun items and some delicious treats automatically make you feel a little bit better. Even if it’s temporary, over time some self care will always do you good. So have that scoop of chocolate ice cream and watch that movie-you deserve it.

belle-with-food

And above all, what I’ve learned most during this little bump on the road of life, is that sometimes, you need to create your own magic. You must keep on believing, because as Cinderella has reminded us time and time again, “the dream that you wish will come true.” Aurora always says “if you dream a thing more than once, it’s sure to come true.” I really do believe this, and I will continue to remind myself of this phrase when some important opportunities open up soon for me. And as Snow White says, you always, always, always have to know, that “you’re the one who can fill the world with sunshine.” So look within yourself in your tumultuous times-the ones filled with letdowns, heartbreak, and sadness. It is in those times, where we find the strength, beauty, and courage deep down within us. It’s been there all along-sometimes we just need to brush off the rust, and bring out the pixie dust.

tumblr_n08ciibzug1sg0a6co1_500

 

I hope you’re all having a beautiful week. And if you’re going through a transitionary period, or feeling any doubt at all, I truly hope today’s post helped you in some way. If you like this type of inspirational post, let me know in the comments below.

Love, pixie dust, and endless wishes,

The Pixie Dusted Princess

Leave a Reply

