Food Friday-5 Tips To Stay Hydrated in WDW

It’s summer, so naturally it’s hot all around the U.S.! However in Florida-the aptly named SUNSHINE state-it is extremely hot! This is a current snapshot of the temperature and heat index in the Walt Disney World resort. That doesn’t look fun to walk around in, let alone running around the parks all day in! That’s where the importance of staying hydrated comes in…

Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 2.02.48 PM.png

Our bodies are mostly made up of water, so we need to give our body what it needs more of when it’s hot out (hint: that would be good old H20)! If you’re traveling to WDW in July or August, I have some time tested tips for you! I am a seasoned summer Disney vacationer, so I know what works and what doesn’t. Even I find it extremely hot year after year, and you’d think I’d be used to it by now! I kind of love the heat, though, so I can’t stay away just because of some sunny rays and humidity!

Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 1.59.46 PM.png

1. Carry a Water Bottle

I prefer to bring my own bottle so that I don’t have to buy pricey Disney water (you could buy an entire pack of water for the price of one bottle at Publix!). Please carry water even if you think it’s heavy/not cool/annoying. Dehydration is not worth it. It can cause you to pass out, have heat stroke, or get very sick. I’ve seen it firsthand, and it’s not fun. You don’t want anything to ruin your vacation time, so drink at least 5-8 bottlefuls a day.

2. Free Ice Water-Simply Ask

Most quick service locations offer free ice water if you just ask. Often, people will feel forced to buy a Diet Coke or Sprite from the quick service carts because they feel like buying a bottled water is a waste of money. This tip solves that problem! All you have to do is say please and thank you, and water will somehow appear before your eyes at the counter. Must be Disney magic!

3. Pick Popsicles and Fruit

Fruity popsicles are the best choice from an ice cream cart on a summer day. I know that Mickey bar looks tempting, but a popsicle will also taste great…plus, it will refresh you! Another treat I love it a Dole Whip float is super refreshing during a scorching hot Florida afternoon. Fruit is naturally filled with water and pre-sliced versions are available at many quick service spots around parks. My favorites are watermelon and strawberries.

4. Spray Fans are Your New BFF

So you’re not drinking the water out of this, but this is another easy way to feel very refreshed on the outside. I purchased my spray fan at WDW years ago from a cart on Main Street. You could purchase a much less expensive version from Amazon ahead of your trip, though. Spraying this on your face/neck area throughout the day will have you wondering why you haven’t been to WDW in August before. It’s a piece of cake! Maybe… 😉 Still, your face will be thanking you.

5. Avoid Salt, Sugar, and Everything Else Delicious 😉

I’m just kidding, but “everything in moderation” is a phrase I like to live by. It definitely applies to vacation, too! If you’re going to eat chicken nuggets, fries, and drink a Coke for lunch, try to balance it out with water-filled snacks, like I discussed in tip #3! Vacation is a time to indulge, but summer is also a time to hydrate. Choose your food and drink options wisely, and your body and mind will be thanking you.

Drinking water has a million benefits I could discuss, but the way it makes you glow, quenches your thirst (and hunger in some cases), and makes you just feel 100% better makes it my go-to drink year round. At WDW, I always encourage my friends and family to pick the easiest and most natural choice. I hope you’ll do the same this summer.

Screen Shot 2016-07-15 at 2.00.06 PM

Do you find it easy or hard to stay hydrated at Disney during the summer months? Which tips will you use on your next vacation?

Stay Hydrated (and Sparkling from all that H20!)

The Pixie Dusted Princess

Leave a Reply

