Food Friday-DIY Dairy Free Dole Whip

Whether I’m enjoying time at Walt Disney World or Disneyland, my vacation does not feel complete until I eat a Dole Whip (0r 5)! The pineapple soft serve treat strikes the perfect balance between sweet and refreshing. It always is worth the wait in line, and it never fails to bring a smile to my face. The flavor is amazing, the consistency is perfect, and it is genuinely a classic Disney treat.

At home, I even have a Dole Whip scented air freshener…yes, my obsession is kind of out of hand, but I wouldn’t have it any other way!

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 1.02.12 PM.png
Dole Whip-already melting in the Florida sun 🙂

So you can imagine my disappointment with the real world, where you just can’t find these golden ice cream treats everywhere! Then again, having the Dole Whip be unique* to Disney is part of the fun.  I took it into my own hands to create a healthy, dairy-free and gluten-free, version of it! In the parks, I believe it is Lactose-Free and Celiac friendly, which is part of the wide appeal. Everyone loves Dole Whip! 🙂

So, the Dole Whip is not 100% unique to Disney-my Grandma recently visited Hawaii and texted me saying she got a big bowl of Dole Whip in my honor at the Dole Plantation, topped with fresh pineapple. #grandmagoals am I right? Thanks for thinking of me, Grandma, but I certainly with you could have shared with me. 😉

Here’s what you’ll need…

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 12.57.44 PM.png
So few ingredients-easiest recipe EVER!

Ingredients:

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 12.57.57 PM.png
Dole bananas, of course!

-1/2 Ripe Banana (frozen)-I used a Dole Banana, of course!

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 12.58.32 PM.png
Golden Sweet-just how I like them haha!

-Cup of Pineapple Chunks

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 12.58.20 PM.png
I’m obsessed with this milk! And I hate milk usually!

-Cup of Vanilla Coconut Milk

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 12.58.11 PM.png
Love this fun ice cube tray from Ikea-I have a bunch of different designs!

-Ice Cubes

Directions:

Blend all ingredients together in a high-speed blender, until smooth. Then, freeze in cups or bowls for an hour. This yields one to two servings. You could always add a little vanilla ice cream or half and half to make it richer, for those of you who can have dairy. If you prefer a Dole Whip Float (I always order floats at the parks!), then you can serve your soft serve over fresh-squeezed pineapple juice. Yum!

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 12.58.51 PM.png
Yum! I let it melt a bit-so tasty!

When you’ve achieved the rich and creamy consistency the Dole Whip is known for, you have yourself a DIY Dole Whip!

Screen Shot 2016-07-08 at 12.59.01 PM.png
I decided to eat part of my last rice crispie treat with it! Good choice!

Of course, nothing can compare to the original, but for homemade, this recipe is pretty delicious. My Dad and I happily ate and sipped ours out of cups, and it made for the perfect (and healthy) afternoon snack!

Question of the day-Are you a Dole Whip or Citrus Swirl person? Personally, I’ve NEVER tried a citrus swirl, because I don’t want to betray my favorite Disney snack. Let me know if it’s worth it! If so, I’ll try on my next trip, and create a DIY version.

Happy Snacking,

The Pixie Dusted Princess

Leave a Reply

