Food Friday-Frozen Flashback Fun

In honor of the hugely successful Frozen Ever After opening* at EPCOT, I figured it would be fun to have a flashback edition of Food Friday honoring the temporary food options at Hollywood Studios’ Wandering Oaken Trading Post 2 summers ago!

*I will be mourning the loss of Maelstrom until the end of time (but Frozen does have a special place in my heart, too!)

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 6.30.50 PM.png

There were cupcakes GALORE here, honoring our favorite Frozen friends, Elsa, Anna, and of course, Olaf!

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 6.32.07 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 6.31.40 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 6.31.55 PM.png

There was also a fun slush, and who doesn’t love a fun slush, am I right?! (Side note: I have never ordered a slush at WDW! I’m not sure why they don’t really ever appeal to me there…especially when it’s SO hot when I go?! Maybe I should try one next trip!)

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 6.31.24 PM.png

I had the pleasure of trying both Anna and Olaf’s cupcakes on my August 2014 trip. They were both absolutely delicious in their own special ways!

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 6.31.03 PM.png

This chocolate Anna cupcake was so moist and flavorful. The rich cocoa flavor did not disappoint. For being very prepackaged looking at this particular location, I have to say my hopes were not too high for a quality cupcake. However, the great texture of the cake combined with a rich but airy buttercream (and SPRINKLES!!!) was the perfect combo. The white chocolate Anna was the icing on the cake-or the chocolate on top of the icing on the cake-either way, it was GOOD!

Screen Shot 2016-06-24 at 6.32.50 PM.png

This little guy took the cake for best cupcake I have had at a WDW resort in a long time. I am not particularly fond of either carrot cake or cream cheese frosting, so I can say that when I got this to split with a member of my family, it was a shock to us all when I said I really should have ordered my own. I liked it THAT much! I could not get enough of the spicy carrot cake-moist and flavorful, just like the Anna cupcake. The frosting wasn’t too tangy, but more sweet, which I appreciate from a cream cheese frosting if I have to eat it (ike someone is forcing me to, haha!). The white chocolate Olaf face was definitely an over the top addition, but a welcome one, nevertheless. We savored this cupcake and it was a standout sweet item from our entire trip!

 

Did you indulge in any Frozen treats during the Frozen Summer Fun at Hollywood Studios during the past 2 summers? If you did, I’d love to know what you chose!

 

Have a fabulous and food filled weekend,

The Pixie Dusted Princess

2 thoughts on “Food Friday-Frozen Flashback Fun

Leave a Reply

