Food Friday-Chocolate Covered Bananas Recipe

Hello Humans!!!

Lately I’ve been enjoying the PERFECT summer treat that is inspired by a Disney ice cream cart favorite…the chocolate covered banana!

Screen Shot 2016-06-17 at 4.55.01 PM.png

Now normally, I don’t tend to pick the banana out of the ice cream cart treats. I opt for a Mickey ice cream sandwich and sometimes even the classic Mickey Premium bar. Both are refreshing and ice cream based, which I love. However, at home I eat healthier and I tend to eat a lot of fruit during the summer. I had a ton of extra bananas laying around in my fruit bowl this week which made me think of the endless possibilities. When my sweet tooth struck, though, I instantly thought of frozen bananas covered in rich chocolate and peanuts! Yum! I am a big fan of bananas, chocolate, and peanuts-put them all together, and it’s a perfect summertime treat.

Here’s what you’ll need:

Ripe bananas

Quality Chocolate-Ghirardelli is good for this recipe!

Sprinkles, jimmies, crushed nuts, chocolate chips-whatever you fancy 😉

 

I freeze the bananas for two hours on parchment paper first. I either freeze them whole, or split them in halves (whatever works best for you in this case!). After they feel frozen, I’ll pop them out of the freezer and prepare my chocolate. Melt your chocolate-you can use a handful…or a few-in a glass bowl in increments of thirty seconds. Take a spoon and swirl that chocolatey goodness all around and make sure the consistency is very thin. Then, either dunk the bananas in the chocolate or drizzle the chocolate over your frozen bananas. After this, I work quickly to add my desired topping, because the chocolate will freeze to the bananas fast! I let them sit in the freezer for at least an hour more to make sure they’re really cold. Lastly, I enjoy! Mmm! A perfect park treat at home for young and young at heart to enjoy. 🙂 Plus, it’s summer, which means warm weather, and this semi-healthy treat cools you down in no time. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

