How I Deal With Gloomy Days

The past few days, I’ve been feeling gloomy. You probably have too. As someone who is usually filled with pixie dust, happiness, and smiles, I have felt the complete opposite. Usually I’m like Tigger, but I have temporarily transformed into Eeyore. I know these feelings and this mood is clearly warranted. Nobody is immune to difficult days, especially when the world is not making sense. Today, I share with you 3 simple ways I deal with sadness and frustration:

1.) Sunsets/Sunrises

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 1.13.25 PM.png

Looking at something that brings you happiness is often the easiest way to escape negative thoughts. I always prefer to look at a beautiful picture of a sunrise or a sunset, or even better, I like to see one in person. God’s creation is so breathtaking. Looking up into the sky is a reminder of hope and beauty. Our world is so beautiful…it’s important to remember that, always.

2.) Inspirational Quotes

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 1.17.02 PM.png

Words heal; this is a thought I will stand by for the rest of my life. This is why I do what I do, this is why I am a writer. In times of doubt and struggle, I will look toward other people’s quotes on whatever topic it is I’m dealing with. Sometimes, I even try to get a few words out in a mini notebook I always have with me. Writing and reading helps me escape sometimes, but often it teaches me more about how to be a better person in this world.

3.) Hugs

Screen Shot 2016-06-13 at 1.30.50 PM.png

By nature, I am a very snuggly person; if I even remotely enjoy your presence, chances are you will get a hug from me. When sadness, hurt, and anger are upon me, I will turn to family and friends for hugs. Human touch is important, because it reminds you that you’re not, and never will be, alone. If I’m alone, though, I remember that God is with me.

 

I’ll be back with your regularly scheduled Memory Monday next week, and a new post will be up on Wednesday. It just didn’t feel right to share a happy memory today. I hope your week is filled with inner peace and hope for our future.

Take Care,

The Pixie Dusted Princess

Leave a Reply

