Food Friday-Sci-Fi Dine-In Theatre

I’ll never forget jumping in that blue convertible in front of Sci-Fi with my parents, grandparents, and cousin when I was 7. We got the cutest family photo that I still cherish to this day. If I ever find it in the archives, I’ll be sure to add it into this post!

Sci-Fi Dine-In has always been a go-to for my family in Disney’s Hollywood Studios if we aren’t feeling too adventurous and just want a reliable and tasty meal. Similar to 50s prime time cafe, this restaurant has excellent, immersive theming, (mostly) fun cast members, and tasty all-American food.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 4.18.01 PM.png
The ADORABLE cars that MOST parties get to sit in at dinner!

On one day during our last trip in August, we were feeling really warm from the 90 degree day and in need of some A/C. Also, we were very hungry because it was pretty late in the day, we hadn’t had a big breakfast, and needed some food. I suggested try to do a walk-up at Sci-Fi, because the park wasn’t super busy. Luckily it worked out! Unfortunately, we didn’t get seated in a car, which I was honestly a bit bummed about. I love the cars because everyone gets to look straight-forward to the always classic, albeit a bit kitschy drive-in commercials. Most of my family does like the tables in the back, which we ended up being seated at, because you can easily look at each other and talk.*

The service this time around was OKAY. Now, I love to give an excellent review to any FSFB CM, because I know their job is not easy. Also, while I’m aware it’s perfectly fine for a server to have an off day, when you’re spending money to have an immersive experience, it kind of stinks when your server is snippy/rude and then turns around with a big *fake* smile sometimes. Especially when my party is probably over-nice all the time to everyone we meet…so yes, this was a big disappointment. Our service felt very passive-aggressive to me, and my whole party agreed. So, we just tried to have as pleasant an interaction with our server as we could, while remaining more focused on the food that was to come.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 4.25.58 PM.png
The menu-something for everyone, I think!

For my drink, I decided on a Diet Vanilla Coke, because they use those decadent vanilla/cherry syrups here, you can find a few other places on property (I usually think of Beaches and Cream)! So maybe it wasn’t “diet” after all, but it WAS delicious. I also rarely drink soda-only on vacation-so this was a big treat that did not disappoint. I probably had 2 or 3 refills, which was nice!

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 4.46.55 PM.png
One of probably 5 sodas a year, always worth it! (also like my artsy pic with my sunglasses next to my Coke? Not sure what I was going for here haha)

For my meal, I chose two appetizers, which is pretty typical of me. I LOVE appetizer foods. I chose the chicken wings, specifically because “honey-chipotle bbq sauce” caught my eye. I paired the onion rings with that.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 4.31.07 PM.png
My lunch! Pretty good, would order both apps again!

The wings were delicious, but very sticky. Luckily, I was provided with wet naps, but I did need to ask for extra. The blue cheese was kind of watery, but I love blue cheese, so I ate it, but didn’t thoroughly enjoy it. The onion rings were absolutely amazing, everyone agreed those were the best thing we ate there this trip.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 4.33.17 PM.png
Sniped this pic of the burger quick…also the lighting was super dark…but look at those golden fries!

Another member of my party got the angus chuck burger, which was good, but again, not anything incredible. It looked pretty good, but I wasn’t wishing I ordered it.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 4.36.33 PM.png
See that avocado mayo peeking out from behind the bun? Pretty sure THAT is what dreams are made of. 

The last item was also a sandwich, a smoked turkey choice topped with a delicious avocado mayonnaise. I didn’t get to taste it, but heard it was pretty good, and the mayo was an interesting addition, that was definitely welcome.

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 4.38.44 PM.png
The best dessert ever! I’m obsessed!

Dessert, for me at least, was the shining star of this Hollywood eatery. Our lackluster meal was in need of something sweet, which we hoped would be more flavorful and fun. We asked our waitress for suggestions and she said either the donut or their house made candy bar. While the candy bar sounded good, we opted for the warm caramel apple donut dessert. This donut dessert did not disappoint. The others in my party said it was good, but would not get again. I, on the other hand, was obsessed. The waitress hinted that the donut was provided *magically* by a little place that starts with two K’s…Krispy Kreme perhaps? *cough cough* I don’t have Krispy Kreme where I live, and it is the only donut I LOVE. SO, a  glazed donut, topped with warm caramel apples, a big serving of vanilla ice cream, and metallic crunchies {similar to Be Our Guest cupcake crunchies, for reference ;)} was right up my alley.

I was also celebrating my birthday, so I was quietly (no song or big hoorahs here) given a small vanilla cupcake, topped sparsely with a few Mickey sprinkles. Honestly, this was the most underwhelming birthday cupcake I’ve received in terms of presentation (and I’ve had many), however it still tasted rich and the frosting was smooth and very sweet!

When we got our bill, I pointed out an adorable little Easter egg not all might catch when you’re busy getting your card/cash out. Let me know in the comments if you see it 😉

Screen Shot 2016-05-06 at 4.49.49 PM.png
Hehe, love little Easter eggs like these!

Overall, this meal started out well and had a fairly underwhelming middle, but ended on a solid note. I feel 50/50 about this experience, because the main meals and service were lackluster. The atmosphere, the desserts, and the Vanilla Coke really made up for it though, in my opinion. Yes, the Vanilla Coke holds that much weight in my decision. I won’t be running back to Sci-Fi on my next trip, and it certainly won’t be making it’s way onto my ADR list. This visit was on a whim, and it was pretty good all things considered. I just have more love in my heart for a particular 50s cafe, where cousins and aunts make me feel more at home. 🙂

*This ended up being a bit difficult, since our table was seated directly next to a speaker, which was blasting in our ears the entire time haha! We find situations like that funny though, so we had a good laugh about it.

So, what do you think about Sci-Fi? Let me know in the comments below or tweet me @pixiedustedprin!

Leave a Reply

