Food Friday: Disney Cheesecake

I never liked cheesecake, until about 2 Christmases ago. I was standing in one of those wholesale clubs, possibly a Costco, with my family, looking in the freezer sections for desserts to bring to a party. My eyes were drawn to some type of cake sampler. It looked chocolatey, and almost like a pie. There were chocolate chip, chocolate mousse, and other assortments. I pulled it out and noticed the frost had covered up the true title: CHEESEcake. Yuck, I thought, I HATE cheesecake, even though I’d never tried it before. Something about the words cheese (salty) and cake (sweet) didn’t go together well in my mind. Well, luckily for me, we bought that sampler, and I am not ashamed to admit, I probably ate the most of it out of anybody in my whole family! So yes, that’s how my love of cheesecake was born.

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 6.40.21 PM.png

Fast forward to our latest Disney stay at Port Orleans Riverside, I was perusing the dessert station as per usual. Beside the decadent, fudge brownies, and cookies the size of your face, dusted in colorful Mickey sprinkles, were cheesecake slices. Plain cheesecake.

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 6.39.58 PM.png

Now, I had never had plain cheesecake before! I know, I haven’t “lived,” right?! Well, I finally did. I ordered that cheesecake (with strawberry topping, because it sounded more classic than chocolate or caramel) and was on my merry way.

Screen Shot 2016-04-01 at 6.13.40 PM.png

Well let me tell you, that cheesecake was GOOD. Rich, creamy, and not “cheesy,” like I had feared, it was everything I wanted in a somewhat light, but still decadent dessert. The abundance of strawberry topping sealed the deal. I’m always up for fruit topping. I am officially #teamcheesecake. Okay, I said it, so now it’s official. I really want to try baking one this summer. Or even a hybrid between cheesecake, and key lime pie. That would be SO GOOD.

Do you like cheesecake? Have you tried it at Disney, and if so how does it hold up to your standards? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

