Food Friday: Quick Service Cakes

Today’s Food Friday is dedicated to everyone’s favorite quick service cakes! You know the kind! They come in round little containers and are served at almost every quick service location on property! They’re a steal at $4.29 and are a good choice for snack credits on the Disney Dining Plan.

Screen Shot 2016-03-25 at 4.09.56 PM.png

They come in two varieties: triple chocolate cake and carrot cake. I have had both, and my favorite is the triple chocolate cake, because I am a total-chocolate lover. Plus, I’m partial to sprinkles of any kind, and these multi-colored Mickey sprinkles just are too perfect.

Screen Shot 2016-03-25 at 2.13.33 PM.png
This carrot reminds me . . . Easter is soon! Happy Easter, everybody!
Screen Shot 2016-03-25 at 2.13.21 PM.png
Nothing like some Main Street USA bokeh-goodness and a mini-cake while waiting for the Main Street Electrical Parade 🙂

I do find the carrot made of frosting atop the sweet cream cheese frosting to be pretty adorable, too, though! I don’t recall this one having any nuts or raisins in it, but it was just a soft and fluffy carrot flavor that I think many palettes would enjoy. This is a good way to break out of the chocolate mold and try something new. I love how my dad modeled this cake for me! He did a pretty great job if you ask me. #handmodel

Screen Shot 2016-03-25 at 4.14.58 PM.png
The nicest CM gave me a Mickey straw with my cake for my birthday. Loved these as a kid and even still as an adult. 

Typically, I end up getting these cakes for free. FOR FREE?! you ask? Yes, for free. I always go to Walt Disney World for my birthday and when I go to any quick service like my personal favorites, Pinocchio’s Village Haus or Cosmic Ray’s Starlight Cafe, they often create a magical moment and gift me some cake! It’s become a tradition for me to have at least one of these per birthday trip (but it’s often more).

I do love cupcakes, but I prefer a slice of cake so much more. There is something about eating cake with a fork that looks and feels classier! 😉

At Disney’s Port Orleans Resort, I found a similar cake in more of a slice form than the circular dish. It tasted the same: moist, gooey, sweet frosting, and overall delectable! Plus, this slice had layers, which means more frosting.

Screen Shot 2016-03-25 at 4.13.32 PM.png
Layers of fudgey goodness! Mmm . . .

I’ll never forget introducing my friends to these in high school. As soon as they took a bite, they were in heaven. It was the funniest and most priceless reaction. They told me the cake definitely lived up to the hype I created. I hope they do for you, too!

Pixie Dust Kisses,

The Pixie Dusted Princess

 

 

Leave a Reply

