The Countdown to Your Disney Parks Vacation

Those few days, weeks, even years leading up to your Disney vacation are some of the most exciting moments in the process. It’s the anticipation that is half, if not more, of the fun. You get to build up that wonderful feeling of pure excitement-what new memories are yet to be built?! Here are a few of my tips on how to make the most of the time leading up to your trip:

1.) Finalize ADRs and FastPass+ Choices

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 2.40.49 PM

Get on that My Disney Experience app and double check everything! Make sure to add anything you would like and cancel anything you know you don’t want to do anymore. I enjoy under planning, because I like to experience things in the joy of the moment. Often my best memories come from the times where I had no plans whatsoever! The main experiences that come to mind are becoming the Grand Marshals of the parade in Magic Kingdom, having a private ride with the Dapper Dans on the trolley while they serenaded me with “Happy Birthday,” and special interaction with the Mad Hatter.

2.) Pack, pack, and pack some more

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 3.07.07 PM

As a girly girl, this is one of my favorite parts. However, for me, it’s also one of the most stressful things to do. Ways I make it calmer include playing some Disney music in the background and making a list (I LOVE LISTS-can you tell from this blog post?!). My Tigger pen Disneyfies even my list making…

3.) Get Your “Disney Bag” Together

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 3.18.06 PM

Packing my carryon (my “Disney bag” as I prefer to call it) makes everything feel real to me. A few healthy snacks (before the Disney food fest commences), a couple magazines or a book (usually something related to Disney history), sometimes a coloring book (especially when I was younger, but who doesn’t feel like a kid when they’re traveling to Disney?), headphones, tissues, hand sanitizer, and a lip product. Of course my wallet, boarding pass, and phone go in at the last few seconds as well!

4.) Countdown Apps

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 3.19.46 PM

I just search “countdown app” and pick a free one in the App store on my iPhone. Whenever we book our flight and hotel, I download this and let the fun daily countdown begin. It gives a little reminder of hope every day when going to work or school that your trip is a little closer.

5.) DisneyGram

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 3.20.44 PM

If you have a Instagram account dedicated solely to Disney, or even post a lot of pictures from Disney Parks, you know how addicting it can be! I am on a serious kick, where I am posting an amazing assortment of Disney photos from previous trips. As I am currently getting down to the wire on my personal countdown for my next Disney vacation, I like to make sure I am posting at least one photo per day to hopefully give others a smile and allow myself to get excited, too!

6.) Get Sentimental

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 3.24.54 PM

I love spending time on reflecting about why I’m so excited about going to Disney yet again (we’re at 30 times and counting). I sometimes will watch home videos of me as a baby or young child in awe of all the colors, sights, and smells around me as I entered Disneyland and Disney World for the very first times. Also, taking a peek at some of our old photo albums can really put a tear in my eye (I’m super nostalgic). It grounds me and reminds me how I first got my start loving the magic of it all! I love seeing how things have changed, and what hasn’t. It’s a neat way to connect yourself with the past, present, and future.

7.) Talk about it…to ears willing to listen

Screen Shot 2015-08-03 at 3.27.15 PM

Personally, I hate bragging or letting everyone know that I am going on yet another Disney vacation. Sticking to my own moral code, I don’t find it appropriate or becoming to throw it around that I am going on another trip to my favorite place, because I am well aware of the cost and time invested in them. I am very blessed to be so fortunate as to take frequent trips! So, I love talking with those who are interested in my obsession with Disney, or share that obsession with me. My family is an obvious one, but I have a few friends who also share the passion for Disney that I do. It’s fun to share your countdowns with each other, and what you’re doing to prepare. Sharing tips is a way of bonding with others, and I’m always about strengthening personal connections.

There you have it! My lucky 7 tips to making your countdown a fun and pain free one! Tell me: what are your favorite ways to count down to your Disney vacation? Which Disney Park are you heading to next?

#distinctlydisney

Leave a Reply

